Appointments made to White House Jobs and Competitiveness Council

Yesterday, the White House announced the list of members of the new President’s Council on Jobs and Competitiveness. Here is the annotated list (courtesy of the Wall Street Journal):

Steve Case, co-founder of America Online. Mr. Case chairs Revolution, a holding company that oversees multiple companies, which include Zipcar, LivingSocial and Everyday Health.
Kenneth I. Chenault, chairman and CEO of American Express Co.
John Doerr, a partner at venture capital firm Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers. Mr. Doerr hosted Mr. Obama and a gaggle of the tech industry’s geek glitterati at his San Francisco home last week.
Roger W. Ferguson Jr., president and CEO of TIAA-CREF, retirement services purveyor for pensioners in academia.
Mark Gallogly, co-founder and managing principal of private equity firm Centerbridge Partners. Mr. Gallogly hails from the Blackstone Group.
Joseph T. Hansen, President of the United Food and Commercial Workers Union (UFCW) and chaiman of Change to Win, which rallied voters to Mr. Obama’s presidential bid.
Lewis “Lew” Hay III, chairman and CEO of power company NextEra Energy Inc.
Gary Kelly, chairman, president, and CEO of Southwest Airlines.
Ellen Kullman, chairman and CEO of DuPont.
A.G. Lafley, former CEO of Procter & Gamble, now Special Partner at Clayton, Dubilier & Rice.
Monica C. Lozano, publisher and CEO of La Opinión, the nation’s largest Spanish language daily newspaper.
Darlene Miller, owner and CEO of Permac Industries, a Minnesota machine parts manufacturer.
Paul S. Otellini, CEO of Intel Corp.
Richard D. Parsons, senior adviser at private equity firm Providence Equity Partners Inc.
Antonio Perez, CEO of Kodak.
Penny Pritzker, Obama fund-raiser and chairman of TransUnion, CEO of Pritzker Realty Group and chair and co-founder of The Parking Spot, Artemis Real Estate Partners, and Vi, formerly known as Classic Residence by Hyatt.
Brian L. Roberts, CEO of Comcast Corp.
Matt Rose, CEO of Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway Corporation.
Sheryl Sandberg, chief operating officer at Facebook.
Richard L. Trumka, president of the AFL-CIO, the nation’s largest labor federation.
Laura D’Andrea Tyson, professor at the Haas School of Business at the University of California Berkeley, and National Economic Adviser in the Clinton administration.
Robert Wolf, chairman of UBS Americas and president of UBS Investment Bank; Obama fund-raiser and frequent golf buddy.

It is an interesting mix of sectors and industries — some of the usual suspects and a dash of others. I especially like the fact that the CEO of Southwest Airlines is on the list. They are a prime example of organizational and operational innovation. Likewise, A.G. Lafley, former CEO of Procter & Gamble is one of the foremost operational experts of open innovation. Now, let’s see what they come up with.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s